IC771CA COURSE SCHEDULE

You must take the midterms by the deadlines below. If you have a conflict, call BEFORE the deadline to arrange an alternative time.

For the reading assignments:

GM  = Gray and Meyer
R   = From Selected Readings
MOS = Analog MOS Integrated Circuits, II

We recommend you do all the reading, but most importantly read the textbook Gray and Meyer.

DayDateTopicReading
Mon Aug 25 Lecture #1 - Introduction, Course Overview GM 6.4, A6.1, A4.1
R 1-3
MOS 119, 128, 136
Tue Aug 26 Conference call sign-in: You must call the CalView office (510) 642-5776 by 3pm PT today to sign up for the conference call with Luns Tee on 8/28.
Wed Aug 27 Lecture #2 - Precision Op Amps
Thurs Aug 28 Conference call: Introductory telephone discussion with Luns at 1pm PST.
Fri Aug 29 Lecture #3 - Temp. Coefficient, Vos offset ECP
Mon Sept 1 Holiday - Labor Day
Wed Sep 3 Lecture #4 - Precision Op Amps, Low Vos Design
Fri Sep 5 Lecture #5 - Low Vos
Mon Sept 8 Lecture #6 - Low input current Op Amps
HOMEWORK #1 DUE AND BACKGROUND QUESTIONNAIRE IS DUE. Must be postmarked no later than 9/8.
R 4-6
Wed Sept 10 Lecture #7 - JFET, MOSFET Vos
Fri Sept 12 Lecture #8 - Design of High Speed Op Amps. GM 9.4-6
MOS 59
Mon Sept 15 Lecture #9 - Slew Rate of 741
Wed Sept 17 Lecture #10 - High Speed Op Amps: Improving BW R 7-8
Fri Sept 19 Lecture #11 - Bipolar Op Amps
HOMEWORK #2 DUE: Must be postmarked no later than 9/19
Mon Sept 22 Lecture #12 - Bipolar Op Amps; CMOS Op Amps
Wed Sept 24 Lecture #13 - Review basic MOS
Fri Sept 26 Lecture #14 - Second Order Effects
HOMEWORK #3 DUE: Must be postmarked no later than 9/26
Mon Sept 29 Lecture #15 - MOS Transistors as Small Signal Amplifiers
Wed Oct 1 Lecture #16 - MOS Transistors; MOS Op Amp Design GM 6.5
R 9-11
MOS 12, 26, 76, 81
Fri Oct 3 Lecture #17 - MOS Op Amps
Mon Oct 6 Lecture #18 - Basic 2-Stage CMOS Op Amps
HOMEWORK #4 DUE: Must be postmarked no later than 10/6
Wed Oct 8 Lecture #19 - 2-stage CMOS Op Amps
Conference Call Sign - In: You must call the Cal VIEW office (510) 642-5776 by 3 pm PT today to sign up for the conference call with Professor Gray on 10/10
Fri Oct 10 Lecture #20 - 2-stage CMOS Op Amps
Conference Call - Telephone discussion with Prof. Gray at 9am PST.
Mon Oct 13 Lecture #21 - Max Speed for CMOS Op Amps
Conference Call Sign-In: You must call the Cal VIEW office (510) 642-5776 by 3 pm PT today to sign up for the conference call with Luns on 10/16
Wed Oct 15 Lecture #22 - CMOS Op Amp application: Pipeline A/D Converter
R 12-13
Thu Oct 16 Conference Call - Telephone discussion with Luns to review for midterm at 1pm PST.
Fri Oct 17 Lecture #23 - Low Power, Low Voltage Op Amps
HOMEWORK #5 DUE: Must be postmarked no later than 10/17
Oct 20-24 MIDTERM EXAMINATION: ANY TIME THIS WEEK; Must be postmarked no later than Fri, 10/24
Mon Oct 27 Lecture #24 - Lateral Bipolar Transistor in CMOS GM A4.1-4
R 14
MOS 26, 42, 52, 81
Wed Oct 29 Lecture #25 - Temperature and supply-independent biasing
Mon Oct 31 Lecture #26 - PTAT and Bandgap references
Mon Nov 3 Lecture #27 - Bandgap references R 15, 16
Wed Nov 5 Lecture #28 - Bandgap reference implementations
Fri Nov 7 Lecture #29 - Noise in IC's GM 11
Mon Nov 10 Lecture #30 - Noise Models for Active Devices
HOMEWORK #6 DUE: Must be postmarked no later than 11/10
Wed Nov 12 Lecture #31 - Circuit Noise Example
Fri Nov 14 Lecture #32 - Equivalent Input Voltage & Current Noise
Mon Nov 17 Lecture #33 - Equivalent Input Noise, Bipolar/MOS
Wed Nov 19 Lecture #34 - Noise figure, noise temp, noise bandwidth
Thurs Nov 20 Conference Call Sign - In: You must call the Cal VIEW office (510) 642-5776 by 3 pm PT today to sign up for the conference call with Professor Gray on 11/24.
Fri Nov 21 Lecture #35 - Noise in Feedback amplifier; noise in E.C. pair
Mon Nov 24 Lecture #36 - Noise analysis
Conference Call - Telephone discussion with Prof. Gray at 10:30am PST.
Wed Nov 26 Lecture #37 - HOMEWORK #7 DUE: Must be postmarked no later than 11/26
Fri Nov 28 Holiday - Thanksgiving
Mon Dec 1 Lecture #38 - CMOS RF / CMOS Low-Noise Amplifier
Tues Dec 2 Conference Call Sign - In: You must call the Cal VIEW office (510) 642-5776 by 3 pm PT today to sign up for the conference call with Luns on 12/4.
Wed Dec 3 Lecture #39 - Monolithic filters
Thu Dec 4 Conference Call - Telephone discussion to review for final with Luns at 1pm PST R 18-24
MOS Section 1.2
Fri Dec 5 Lecture #40 - Low-Voltage Switched-Capacitor Circuits
HOMEWORK #8 DUE: Must be postmarked no later than 12/5
Mon Dec 8 Lecture #41 - LAST LECTURE ... More Monolithic filters
Dec 15-19 FINAL EXAMINATION: Must be postmarked no later than Fri, 12/19

Last modified: Thu Sep 4 15:25:59 PDT 1997